Vegetarian & Vegan

Vegan Vegetarian

Vegetarian/Vegan Marshmallows, i.e. marshmallows without gelatin


Live your best food life.

Sign up to discover your next favorite restaurant, recipe, or cookbook in the largest community of knowledgeable food enthusiasts.
Sign Up For Free
Vegetarian & Vegan 16

Vegetarian/Vegan Marshmallows, i.e. marshmallows without gelatin

Laura D. | Apr 20, 2012 05:23 AM

I'm thrilled that Chowhound has added this board. While I've been involved in previous discussions about this topic on the homecooking board, I thought I'd post something here too, since it might appeal more to this audience. Does anyone have a tried and true recipe for vegetarian or vegan marshmallows? I am a ovo-lacto vegetarian, so I am not opposed to a recipe with egg whites which would be vegetarian. However, I understand that perhaps I might have more luck trying to find a vegan recipe without any eggs. The bottom line, though, is that I'm looking for something that utilizes a gelling agent other than gelatin. Over the years I've tried pectin, agar-agar, xanthan gum, etc. and have had very minimal success. My best attempts lost their shape after a day or two, while my worst attempts never solidified at all and were a disgusting grey color. I'm less obsessed than I used to be with finding a recipe, thanks to Sweet and Sara and Dandies, but I still would love to conquer this challenge. Thanks!

Want to stay up to date with this post?

Recommended From Chowhound