+
Kosher

Is Kosher Cheese also Vegetarian (i.e. without animal rennet?)

Laura D. | Jan 25, 200707:02 AM     34

If a cheese is listed as being Kosher, (for example on the igourmet.com website there is a whole section on kosher cheese), does that imply that any rennet in that cheese would have to be vegetable as opposed to animal derived? I'm a vegetarian, so must confess that I'm wondering this because it is is usually difficult to tell what kind of rennet is being used in cheeses, since it is most often simply listed as only "rennet." I've read that most rennets used in cheeses today are not animal derived, but I figure that if something can't be both labelled Kosher and contain animal derived rennet then my safest bet would be to seek out Kosher cheese. Thanks in advance for your help!

Want to stay up to date with this post? Sign Up Now ›

Invite a friend to chime in on this discussion.

Email a Friend

More from Chowhound

13 Awesome Asparagus Recipes to Celebrate This Spring
Recipe Round-Ups

13 Awesome Asparagus Recipes to Celebrate This Spring

by Susannah Chen | Spring asparagus is absolutely worthy of celebration, so we rounded up some of our best asparagus...

Celebrate Spring with These Harvest Salad Recipes
Recipe Round-Ups

Celebrate Spring with These Harvest Salad Recipes

by Miki Kawasaki | Summer may seem like prime time for salads, but fresh spring produce also shines in simple preparations...

The Ultimate Guide to Picnicking
Guides

The Ultimate Guide to Picnicking

by Chowhound Editors | The picnic is one of the annual joys of warm-weather (and sometimes cool-weather) eating, and our...

Celebrate Spring with These Seasonal Cocktails
Recipe Round-Ups

Celebrate Spring with These Seasonal Cocktails

by Brittany Loggins | There’s no better way to shed your winter layers and ease into spring than with a delicious cocktail...

Get fresh food news delivered to your inbox

Sign up for our newsletter to receive the latest tips, tricks, recipes and more, sent twice a week.