+
Special Diets

Ingredients derived from wheat

babette feasts | Nov 21, 201409:34 AM     3

Question about sensitivity to ingredients derived from wheat- I use glucose syrup in a few confectionery items that I make, like caramels and fruit jellies. If you're not familiar, it is similar to corn syrup but thicker, and I believe made by the same process in terms of breaking down the starch molecules into sugars. I do always tell people that these items have a wheat ingredient just to be safe, but I wonder if the glucose syrup would actually cause a reaction in someone. Does anybody have any firsthand experience with whether such a thing would cause a reaction to someone with either celiac or a wheat allergy or sensitivity?

Thanks!

Want to stay up to date with this post? Sign Up Now ›

More from Chowhound

BBQ 101: How to Grill for Beginners
Guides

BBQ 101: How to Grill for Beginners

by Greg Stegeman | The weather is getting nicer, Memorial Day is on the horizon, and summer is right around the corner...

The Best Grills, BBQ Tools, and Grill Accessories
Guides

The Best Grills, BBQ Tools, and Grill Accessories

by Jen Wheeler | If you're in the market for a new grill, grill brush, or basically any other BBQ tool, grill accessory...

A Comprehensive Guide to Barbecue Sauce Across the Country
Guides

A Comprehensive Guide to Barbecue Sauce Across the Country

by Greg Stegeman | Barbecue sauce is a blanket term that doesn't necessarily do justice to all the regional styles of...

Battle of the BBQ: Where Can You Find the Best in the South?
Guides

Battle of the BBQ: Where Can You Find the Best in the South?

by Joey Skladany | As a self-proclaimed sauce connoisseur and fan of barbecue varieties specifically, I was more than...

See what's new!

View latest discussions ›

Get fresh food news delivered to your inbox

Sign up for our newsletter to receive the latest tips, tricks, recipes and more, sent twice a week.