Share:

Restaurants & Bars 36

French Bistros

nsxtasy | Mar 11, 2009 01:51 PM

I recently enjoyed the Tuesday special (3 courses from the entire menu for $25) at La Sardine; the food was great (particularly the mussels and the dessert souffle), as was the value, of course. Now I'm wondering which other French bistros I ought to consider. In addition to La Sardine, I've also tried and enjoyed Bistro 110, Kiki's, Brasserie Jo, Mon Ami Gabi, and Bistro Campagne in the city, and in the suburbs, Jacky's and Jilly's in Evanston, Café Central in Highland Park, and Miramar in Highwood. The only French bistro that disappointed me was Café Matou - not that it was bad, but it just didn't bowl me over.

Would anyone like to recommend other French bistros for me to try, as well as provide additional opinions on these? (I'm aware that Le Bouchon is the sister restaurant to La Sardine and also does the special on Tuesdays.) I'd love to hear opinions about which are the best, as well as any places to avoid. I should also mention that I've already done a search of previous topics with recommendations for French bistros, including these:
http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/564917
http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/441834

Here are the French bistros I'm aware of (and I'll note that I'm referring to moderately-priced, casual places serving traditional French bistro fare, and not the more expensive "fine dining" French restaurants):

Brasserie Jo (River North) - www.brasseriejo.com
Kiki's Bistro (River North) - www.kikisbistro.com
Cyrano's Bistrot and Wine Bar (River North) - www.cyranosbistrot.com
Madame Tartine (River North) - www.madametartines.com
Bistro 110 (Michigan Avenue) - www.levyrestaurants.com
Bistrot Zinc (Gold Coast) - www.bistrotzinc.com
Bistrot Margot (Old Town) - www.bistrotmargot.com
Old Town Brasserie (Old Town) - www.oldtownbrasserie.com
Mon Ami Gabi (Lincoln Park) - www.monamigabi.com
Cafe Bernard (Lincoln Park) - www.cafebernard.com
Bistro Campagne (Lincoln Square) - www.bistrocampagne.com
La Tache (Andersonville) - www.latachechicago.com
La Sardine (West Loop) - www.lasardine.com
Marche (West Loop) - www.marche-chicago.com
Le Bouchon (Wicker Park) - www.lebouchonofchicago.com
Café Matou (Wicker Park) - www.cafematou.com
Cafe Absinthe (Wicker Park) - www.cafeabsinthechicago.com
Chez Joel Bistro (Little Italy) - www.chezjoelbistro.com
La Petite Folie (Hyde Park) - www.lapetitefolie.com
Jacky's Bistro (north suburban Evanston) - www.jackysbistro.com
Jilly's Café (north suburban Evanston) - www.jillyscafe.com
Cafe Central (north suburban Highland Park) - www.cafecentral.net
Froggy's (north suburban Highwood) - www.frenchrestaurantschicagocatering.com
Miramar (north suburban Highwood) - www.miramarbistro.com
Retro Bistro (northwest suburban Mount Prospect) - www.retrobistro.com
D&J Bistro (northwest suburban Lake Zurich) - www.dj-bistro.com
Bistro Monet (west suburban Glen Ellyn) - www.bistromonet.com

So, how about it, Chowhounds - where should I go the next time I want to try another French bistro?

TIA!

Want to stay up to date with this post?

Feedback