I think they are. Reason I ask is because I grew up eating egg products and we considered ourselves vegetarian. My parents are from Kerala (Tamil Iyers). I grew up in the US.
I recall reading something about how some religious figure Tamil Iyers follow permitted eggs or something along those lines.