Home Cooking

Italian Cookbooks

Best Classic Italian Cookbooks?

Share:

More from Home Cooking

Home Cooking Italian Cookbooks

Best Classic Italian Cookbooks?

i
ian_pink | | Jan 8, 2010 02:42 AM

I'm wondering what people think is the best classic Italian cooking text. Not really looking for books by Batali and Hazan (though I'm interested in your thoughts on those), but really looking for a classic Italian text, in the vein of Joy of Cooking or Escoffier. I'm especially interested in:

Il Talismano Della Felicità (Boni)
La Scienza in Cucina E L'arte Di Mangiar Bene (Artusi)
Il Cucchiaio d'Argento

Anybody use any of these? Are they still practical to use?

Bonus question: What's the one Italian cookbook you'd bring to a dessert island?

Feedback