Chowhound Presents: Table Talk with Yotam Ottolenghi and Helen Goh of Sweet: Desserts from London's Ottolenghi | Ask Your Questions Now ›



Vegetarian Cheeses


Cheese 3

Vegetarian Cheeses

Samo | Nov 15, 2001 11:29 AM

Many cheeses rely on rennets made from the minced stomachs of calves for coagulation, and hence are not vegetarian by most definitions. Here is a list of cheeses made with vegetarian rennets. (It is likely that I have mispelled some names; I humbly request corrections from those better informed.)

St. George
Pleasant Ridge Reserve
Winchester Aged Gouda
Vella's Mezzo Secco Jack
Vella's Dry Jack
Redwood Hill Farms Fresh Chèvre
Redwood Hill Farms Feta
Vermont Goat Fontina
Hyku (by Goat's Leap)
Sumi (by Goat's Leap)
Cowgirl Crème Fraîche
Spanish Azeitao
Quinta des Vilnos
Llangoffan Caerphilly
Putney Tomme
Great Hill Blue
Bellwether Farms Ricotta
Los Baños Teleme
Cypress Grove Bermuda Triangle
Redwood Hill Camellia
Redwood Hill Crottin
Humboldt Fog
Old Chartham Camembert
Old Chartham Mutton Button
Abbaye de Belloc Sheepsmilk Cheese
La Peral
Ossau Iraty
Sally Jackson Sheepsmilk Cheese

In addition, all cheeses made in England are now vegetarian, all Tillamook brand cheeses except the Aged White Cheddar are vegetarian and all Kraft Cracker Barrel cheeses that list "enzymes" as an ingredient are vegetarian. (Note that neither the sharp nor the extra sharp Cracker Barrel Cheddar is vegetarian.)

Want to stay up to date with this post?

Recommended From Chowhound