So I just picked up a jar of Patak's vindaloo paste and when I got home, I opened the jar and tasted it. Of course, this was before I read the label which says, 'It is important that this product not be consumed uncooked.' Eek.
But the ingredients are as follows: Vegetable Oil, Spices, Water, Salt, Tamarind, Corn Flour, Garlic Powder, Acetic Acid, Citric Acid, Lactic Acid. Gluten-free, suitable for vegan diets.
Anyone know why?