Discover the unexpected in the Bay Area. Explore All of SF Bay Area
Restaurants & Bars 9

Halal Gelatin

Malia81 | Mar 14, 2008 03:59 PM

I am trying to make Jell-O, but I eat kosher. I have been searching everywhere for gelatin that doesn't use pig/pork products in it. Both the Jell-O brand and Knox use pigskin to make their gelatin. I've tried to use fruit pectin, but it left my coconut jello tasting like... well... fruit.

After lots of research I learned that there is halal gelatin, so no pork product; however, I'm having a really hard time finding it in local markets. I live in Campbell... so if anyone knows where I can find this, I would really appreciate it :)

Want to stay up to date with this post?

Recommended From Chowhound