Home Cooking

Italian Cookbooks

Best Classic Italian Cookbooks?

Share:

Live your best food life.

Sign up to discover your next favorite restaurant, recipe, or cookbook in the largest community of knowledgeable food enthusiasts.
Sign Up For Free
Home Cooking 17

Best Classic Italian Cookbooks?

ian_pink | Jan 8, 2010 02:42 AM

I'm wondering what people think is the best classic Italian cooking text. Not really looking for books by Batali and Hazan (though I'm interested in your thoughts on those), but really looking for a classic Italian text, in the vein of Joy of Cooking or Escoffier. I'm especially interested in:

Il Talismano Della Felicità (Boni)
La Scienza in Cucina E L'arte Di Mangiar Bene (Artusi)
Il Cucchiaio d'Argento

Anybody use any of these? Are they still practical to use?

Bonus question: What's the one Italian cookbook you'd bring to a dessert island?

Want to stay up to date with this post?

Recommended From Chowhound