I had a discussion recently with a friend in the restaurant business. And the following scenario came up. Neither of us really know how Kosher this type of thing is with vegans and vegetarians. So I submit it to you, CH:
You go to eat at a small, unfussy restaurant/bar type thing. It's not a place that is specifically catering to vegans/vegetarians (as in all-vegan menu, etc). You see a vegan option for fried seitan bites, maybe in some kind of sauce or on a tortilla - whatever. You order it, eat it, delicious.
Would it bother you if the fried seitan bites were cooked in the same deep fryer - same oil - as chicken wings, or some other meat? Does that un-veganize the dish?
Would it make a difference if the dish was or was not specifically listed as 'vegan' or 'vegetarian' on the menu?
I ask because I'm curious. I won't put down anybody's opinion or beliefs. I just want to know if this is one of the accepted realities of vegan and vegetarian culture, or if people expect that when a dish is presented as vegan/veg that it is completely 100% untainted by meat or meat byproduct.
Updated 1 year ago | 64
Updated 1 year ago | 48
Updated 1 year ago | 43
Updated 2 years ago | 93
Updated 2 years ago | 8